Go to Top
Newton.Vaureal Consulting - Logistics and Supply Chain Management - Paris
+33 1 40 17 04 03

Language:

3D printer

3D printing: a major disruption of logistics flow?

This technology has delayed-differentiation consequences at the highest level – right through to the end user. With 3D printing, Supply Chains simply apply the principles of MTO (Make-To-Order) – thus removing those risks linked to stock (out-of-stock, obsolescence etc.) and their associated cost. Gone are the 300,000 references to spare parts managed by some distributors – in their place is a good 3D printer and a parts’ database production plan …  if this is even partly true, the complexity of managing a Supply Chain relativizes this revolution.

Last-minute production, differentiation delay and made-to-order are existing and proven concepts. Moreover, production-cycle times do not justify availability delays (a few minutes production … for several weeks’ delay).

A reinvented logistics chain

If the arrival of 3D printers is a revolution in itself, it does not mean the end of Supply Chain but rather its reorganization – moving from a centralized production model to a model favouring decentralized production. We organize:

  • The typology of flows and identification of those that could be “printable”.
  • The supply of “consumables” from printer to production quality control.
  • Maintenance of these mini-production lines.
  • Industrial methods to guarantee the integrity of the production-plan database.

We assess, manage and adapt to demand.

Which 3D printer Supply Chain model?

The studies we have carried out (in a variety of industry environments) reveal proven models that have demonstrated their worth and enable us to take best advantage of this innovation. But gains in flexibility, stock management and reactivity are only real if the Supply Chain is able to guarantee the “instantaneous” and permanent production capacity of these printers through correct planning of their use, supply and maintenance.

Supply Chain allows for necessary product-quality checks (notably for automotive or aeronautical spare parts) as well as for the production conformity of a part ordered. In contrast, in a BtoC environment, an individual 3D printer is a backup tool for Fast Moving Consumer Goods (FMCG) or FMCG that simply require an implementation plan and not a specific production standard to be met. Here Supply Chain is focused on the supply and exchange of printing consumables in order that equipment can function permanently and the provision of supplementary accessories to parts produced on site.

Go to Top
Newton.Vaureal Consulting - Logistique et supply chain Management - Paris
+33 1 40 17 04 03

Langue:

Impression 3D

L’imprimante 3D : un bouleversement majeur des flux logistiques ?

Cette technologie permet en effet une différenciation retardée à son plus haut niveau, jusqu’au consommateur final. Les Supply Chains n’appliquent plus que le principe du MTO (Make-To-Order) supprimant ainsi les risques liés au stock (rupture, obsolescence,…) mais également le coût financier de ceux-ci. Finis les 300 000 références de pièces de rechange gérés par certains distributeurs remplacées par une bonne imprimante 3D et une base de données de plan de pièces à produire…Si cela est en partie vrai, la complexité de gestion d’une Supply Chain conduit à relativiser cette révolution.

La production au dernier moment, la différenciation retardée, la production sur ordre, …sont des concepts existants et éprouvés. De plus le temps de cycle d’une production, ne fait pas le délai de mise à disposition (quelques minutes de production…pour des délais de plusieurs semaines).

Une reconception de la chaine logistique

Si l’arrivée des imprimantes 3D est une révolution en soi, ce n’est pas la fin des Supply Chain mais bien sa réorganisation pour passer d’un modèle de production centralisé à un modèle privilégiant la production décentralisée. Nous organisons :

  • la typologie des flux et l’identification des flux pouvant être « imprimables »
  • l’approvisionnement des « consommables » de l’imprimante au contrôle qualité des productions
  • la maintenance de ces mini-lignes de production
  • les méthodes industrielles pour garantir l’intégrité de la base de données des plans de production

Nous dimensionnons, gérons et adaptons à la demande.

Quel modèle de Supply Chain pour les imprimantes 3D?

Les études que nous avons menées dans différents environnements industriels font apparaitre des modèles éprouvés qui ont fait leurs preuves et qui permettront de tirer profit de cette innovation. Les gains de flexibilité, de gestion de stock, de réactivité ne sont réels que si la Supply Chain a su garantir la capacité de production « instantanée » et permanente de ces imprimantes par une bonne planification de leur emploi, de leur approvisionnement et de leur maintenance.

La Supply Chain permet les nécessaires contrôles de qualité des produits (notamment sur des pièces de rechanges automobiles ou aéronautiques), ainsi que la conformité du plan de production à la pièce demandé.  A l’opposé, dans un environnement BtoC, l’imprimante 3D du particulier est un outil d’appoint pour des PGC ou des rechanges de PGC qui n’imposent pas de respecter une norme mais seulement un plan de réalisation. La Supply Chain est alors centrée sur l’approvisionnement des consommables des imprimantes, leur échange pour permettre la disponibilité permanente de cet outil et la mise à disposition d’accessoires complétant les pièces produites en locale.