Go to Top
Newton.Vaureal Consulting - Logistics and Supply Chain Management - Paris
+33 1 40 17 04 03

Language:

BCP

While the Supply Chain is affected by operational hazards – in particular its logistics component – today it is also exposed in more subtle and insidious ways to acts of malice and/or major risks that have far more serious consequences.

There are words that reveal epochs. This is the case with risk: risks to customer service, risks of loss of products, risks for people, risks to image etc. etc..

Risk management in Supply Chain involves three key words: anticipation, training and observation. We must anticipate the unthinkable, prepare for it and be watchful – become, in fact, just like an alert sentry.

Anticipate

The construction of a BCP (Business Continuity Plan) is a good guide to mobilizing energies and interests related to unforeseeable risks – ranging from the unexpected need to partially or completely shutdown a warehouse to that of inability to use a specific mode of transport.

Our feedback suggests that BCPs encounter three main difficulties:

  • Expression of objectives in defining recovery time to that of a normal situation during a transition period.
  • Involvement of logistics providers in the process – since much of the success of the process depends on it.

Involvement of senior management in these topics.

Prepare and train teams

The weakness of the majority of BCPs is that they are not “enacted” regularly.

If a plan has been well prepared, the only means of effective appropriation lies in training. A Supply Chain is in action daily, so we assume that this action is worth training for. But what about the unexpected? Training and preparation are necessary to confront it voluntarily.

To decide is to resolve.

Decisiveness in action is prepared for by practice.

Stay alert and observe

This is where Big Data and Analytics tools demonstrate their value. New generations of tools, such as IBM’s Watson or GPS from Business Investigation, focus on information flows that are endogenous (internal) or exogenous (external) to a company and have the capacity (after a period of self-parameterization [machine-learning]) to identify those weak indicators that are often associated with increased risk.

Go to Top
Newton.Vaureal Consulting - Logistique et supply chain Management - Paris
+33 1 40 17 04 03

Langue:

PCA

Si la Supply Chain est marquée, tout particulièrement dans sa composante logistique, par des aléas opérationnels, elle est aujourd’hui exposée de manière plus subtile et insidieuse mais avec des conséquences autrement plus graves, aux actes de malveillance ou aux risques majeurs.

Il y a des mots qui marquent des époques. Ainsi en est-il du risque, risque sur le service client, risque sur la perte de produits, risque sur les personnes, risque d’image…

La maîtrise du risque au sein des Supply Chain passe par trois maîtres mots : anticiper, s’entrainer et observer. Il faut penser l’impensable, s’y préparer et veiller, être sur le qui-vive du soldat sentinelle.

Anticiper

La construction de PCA, Plan de Continuité d’Activité, est un bon fil conducteur pour mobiliser les énergies et les intérêts sur le sujet des risques fortuits allant de l’arrêt partiel ou complet d’un entrepôt à celui de l’impossibilité d’utiliser un mode de transport.

En retour d’expérience, les PCA rencontrent trois natures de difficultés dans leur conception.

  • l’expression des objectifs en période transitoire définissant les temps de recouvrement de la situation normale
  • l’implication des prestataires logistiques dans le processus car une bonne partie de la réussite de la démarche en dépend.
  • l’implication des directions générales sur ces sujets.

Se préparer et entrainer les équipes

Le point faible de la plus grande partie des PCA, c’est qu’ils ne sont pas « joués » régulièrement.

Si la conception a été bien faite, le seul moyen de l’appropriation efficace tient dans l’entrainement. La Supply Chain est dans l’action quotidienne, et nous partons du principe que cette action vaut entrainement. Mais qu’en est-il de l’exceptionnel ? Il faut donc s’entrainer à s’y confronter de manière volontariste.

Décider c’est trancher.

Et la décision dans l’action se prépare dans la répétition.

Rester sur le qui-vive et mettre sous observation

C’est là où le Big Data et les outils Analytics prennent tout leur sens. Les nouvelles générations d’outils comme Watson d’IBM ou GPS de Business Investigation viennent se fixer sur les flux d’informations endogènes ou exogènes à l’entreprise, et ont la capacité, après une certaine période d’auto paramétrage (machine learning) d’identifier des signaux faibles associés à des risques croissants.