Go to Top
Newton.Vaureal Consulting - Logistics and Supply Chain Management - Paris
+33 1 40 17 04 03

Language:

Service life-cycle management

A service offer that continually adapts through the product life cycle

Supply Chain has to hypothesize in order to calculate means and organization in relation to customer-service targets. At a given level of service, this corresponds to the optimized organization of logically efficient resources (the best service at minimum cost).

However, the ambition of service expectation (or the very nature of service) varies for each product according to where it is in its life cycle:

  • When launching a product, expected service is based on the responsiveness of the Supply Chain and its capacity to cover any acceleration in the market and/or ability to integrate a new reference system into management systems.
  • In contrast, at the end of a product’s life, expectations focus more on the management of obsolete or dead stock as well as on number of returns.

Deployment of Service Life-Cycle Management

“Service Life-Cycle Management” aims to set up an organization and means capable of regularly adapting to changes related to the status of product needs. The Supply Chain, in its supervisory role, must detect changes in status by following indicators marking a product’s life cycle. It must also be able to resize its resources to meet these new requirements. In this way, it plays an anticipatory and functions-coordination role – always with the goal of optimizing a company’s capacity.

Integrated into a Sales & Operations Planning (S&OP) approach, Service Life-Cycle Management enables you to fine-tune your business forecasts and recommend achievable targets tailored to your future needs. By using powerful management tools, this concept facilitates the operational management of events.

Today, our Supply Chain and Logistics consultants deploy this principle mainly for products with high-technological value, or for complex, long-life equipment. The gains thus made facilitate the maintenance and management of spare parts for this equipment.

Go to Top
Newton.Vaureal Consulting - Logistique et supply chain Management - Paris
+33 1 40 17 04 03

Langue:

Service life cycle management

Adapter l’offre de service tout au long de la vie du produit

La Supply Chain a pour principe de dimensionner les moyens et les organisations par rapport à l’ambition de service client. A un niveau de service donné, correspond ainsi une organisation optimisée des moyens dans une logique de recherche d’efficience (le meilleur service au moindre coût).

Cependant, l’ambition de service ou la nature même du service attendu varie pour chaque produit selon son cycle de vie :

  • Lors du lancement d’un produit, le service attendu repose sur la réactivité de la Supply Chain et sa capacité à couvrir une accélération de la mise sur le marché ou la capacité à intégrer dans les systèmes de gestion un nouveau référentiel.
  • A l’opposé, en fin de vie, les attentes se porteront plus sur la gestion des obsolescences ou des stocks morts, mais aussi sur le dimensionnement des flux retour.

Déployer le Service Life Cycle Management

Le « Service Life Cycle Management » vise à mettre en place une organisation et des moyens capables de s’adapter régulièrement aux changements d’exigences liées au statut d’un produit. La Supply Chain dans son rôle de supervision doit déceler les changements de statut en suivant des indicateurs marquant du cycle de vie d’un produit. Elle doit aussi être capable de redimensionner ses moyens pour répondre aux nouvelles exigences. Elle joue ainsi son rôle d’anticipation et de coordinations de fonction toujours dans le but d’optimisation des capacités de l’entreprise.

Intégré dans une démarche Sales & Operations Planning (S&OP), le Service Life Cycle Management permet d’affiner la prévision d’activité et de proposer des objectifs capacitaires adaptés aux futurs besoins. En s’appuyant sur des outils de gestion performants, ce concept facilite la gestion opérationnelle des événements.

Aujourd’hui, nos consultants Supply Chain et logistique déploient ce principe principalement pour des produits à haute valeur technologique, ou des équipements complexes à longue durée de vie. Les gains apportés facilitent alors la maintenance et la gestion des pièces de rechanges de ces équipements.